I had installed CrazyEgg’s tracking script on a site and forgotten about it. Tonight I was looking at the source code of the home page and noticed a script that was loaded from http://cetrk.com/.
I couldn’t remember what the script was so I typed cetrk.com into Google and couldn’t find any useful information. I eventually remembered that it was a CrazyEgg tracker and I decided to post about it so that other people could find information about it.
CrazyEgg is a JavaScript tracker that among other features shows a nice heatmap overlay on your pages that show where visitors are clicking:

The basic version with a limited number of page views is free at crazyegg.com.
Thanks for posting this. I forgot I installed crazyegg too. Was about to delete it as “rogue” but you saved me from that irritation
I remembered installing it, but didn’t realize that it went that site. I removed it because I was getting much slower load times on my homepage. I’ll stick to Google Analytics for the time being. Good post though.
Thanks for this post. I’d forgotten I’d installed the CrazyEgg tracker too, and assumed that the javascript on my page was the result of a hacker. I’m relieved to find out that’s not the case!
I did the exact same thing & you saved me from an hour or so of troubleshooting! Thanks for posting! U da man, Josh!
I also forgot!!!
THANKS!!!!
So here’s another one that forgot that.
Gonna disable it now
You know it’s thanks to people like you that idiots like me don’t spend hours working out what we did yesterday – cheers mate!
Thanks.
I wonder where would world go without this kind of things.
You just saved me an hour, at least. Thanks!
Thank’s a lot , I also forgot too
Thanks for this post. I forgot I had done this and your post let me know what that script was. The moral of this sad tale is that Crazy Egg (or we individual Crazy Egg users) should add a bit of an HTML comment to the HTML they give us to copy/paste so we’d remember what the script does.
I completely forgot as well and was just about to delete it… It’s crazy how many people have been doing the same
Thanks from me also! Your page is #1 on Google (apart from the cetrk domain) and doing just what you intended. Would it kill CrazyEgg to put a quick reminder at the top of the code, or at least at the home page of cetrk.com?
Well, same for me !
haha was just wondering what that was aswell. Thanks for the clearing up
Yes, thank you. Saved me hours of twiddling and searching for nothing.
We used it too on a couple of our e-commerce sites and I was wondering the same thing. I did end up removing the reference though since we no longer use the service.
Add one more !
Una peticion a cetrk me esta impidiendo que las personas hagan click en mis anuncios de adsense
great post – now we are 20 with the same observation
Funny thing – i wondered where this cetrk comes from; maybe we should have a list of services we’ve registered to
Thank you !!! I banned javascript from this site now! thx
Add me to the list too! Looking at some old code and thought ‘what the hell was i thinking putting THAT in there??’ – then a quick Google and this page came up as first result!
Exactly the same thing happened to me. I was modifying my code for some scripts and saw this script from cetrk.com. I googled it and landed on your site.
Thanks for reminding me.
i have tried to remove from source but time of save, google get error.
Any other idea to remove those code?
What do you mean by Google getting an error?
Could you post the error message here?
Me too. Would be nice if cetrk.com had a slightly friendlier homepage.
Thanks for this post
I wasn’t sure whether to NoScript it or not, this info has helped me.
I did end up NoScripting it anyway though. I’m not the biggest fan of everything tracking, be it anonymous or not…
Thanks for the cool info. I actually had to google cetrk.com to remember where that was coming from on my site as well. Thanks!
I was just checking a site out and saw the cetrk.com link in the source, decided to investigate further and before I knew it I ended up here. So now I know what it is.
Just noticed this too. Thanks for posting this!
computers what??
they not offer it for FREE anymore
Thank you! Did the same thing, noticed it for the first time today and wondered if I had gotten infected with malware. Your post answered all the q’s – thanks for putting this info up.
thanks, me too
This is a harmfull code installing a dangerous script from cetrk.com. Probably your computer is infected by an iframe virus. You had better check your index files for “iframe” injection.
I have renoved Crazy Egg now also. I find that Google Analytics gives me most of the info I need.